Home Theater Forum and Systems banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everybody,

I am new to REW and this forum. I am seeking help because apparently I am not able to calibrate the internal soundcard of my desktop dual 1.8GHz G5 Mac running OSX 10.5.8. I followed carefully the instructions, quit any other application and internet access, turn off sound effects, but what I get is the following graph. I suspect the problem is (as per the instructions) feedback from input to output of the soundcard, but I don't know where to check its on/off state. I tried, but cannot find it in Sound Preferences nor in Audio MIDI Setup.

Any help will be highly appreciated!

Giuseppe

Attachments

·
Registered
7,514 Posts
Doesn't look like you're getting your loopback connection from line-out to line-in. Are you using the correct adapters to break out the stereo left and right line signals so you can loop just the right channel.

brucek

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
More info: either the 1kHz soundcard calibration test tone or ANY tone produced by the GENERATOR function does NOT sound like sine waves at all. It's a buzzing sound full of digital effects and interferences. Look like the soundcard is not generating in output what REW says it is. tried all settings in Audio MIDI Setup and all possible levels to no avail. connecting only L or R channel doesn't make any difference.... Can it be that my soundcard is not compatible with REW???

Giuseppe

·
Registered
2,604 Posts
I am connecting left-out to left-in AND right-out to right-in. Isn't this correct?
You should be able to leave the left channel disconnected for this. If you do this, make sure you've checked the radio for the right channel under "input selection" on the soundcard tab of the settings window.

Perhaps if you show a screenshot of that 'soundcard" tab on the "settings" window we can verify the standard settings.