Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to this, so please bear with me. I have a center speaker from a Samsung Home Theater system purchased 2 years ago, #HT-TQ85 that I am trying to hook up to a new receiver from Pioneer. The problem that I am encountering is that the Samsung center speaker has a total of 4 cables (left positive, left negative, right positive, right negative) coming out of the unit, while the new Pioneer box only has jacks for one positive and one negative.

Can I twist the 2 positive cables together to form one larger positive cable and twist the 2 negative cables together to form one larger negative cable so that I can then insert them into the positive/negative jacks in the rear of the Pioneer unit? If so, how will this affect the center speaker's sound?

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Jeff

·
Registered
3,251 Posts
First of all ...Welcome to the forum :wave:

You can do it ...but I don't recommend it; this is why:

* Speaker(s) 2 x Right/left channel speaker - External - 140 Watt - 145 - 20000 Hz - 3 Ohm - Wired , 1 x Center channel speaker - External - 140 Watt - 145 - 20000 Hz - 3 Ohm - Wired , 2 x Right/left rear channel speaker - External - 140 Watt - 145 - 20000 Hz - 3 Ohm - Wired , 1 x Subwoofer - External - 160 Watt - 3 Ohm - Wired
Most AVR are fine with an 8 ohm load, in this case the speaker is 3 ohm ...you can try it, but be careful if you play them loud., you also need to check the crossover frequency on the AVR, this speaker plays from 145Hz to 20KHz, most of the time the crossover is set to 80Hz.

What other speakers are you using??? ...you also need to consider the timbre match between front speakers (L+R+C) ...:yes:

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thx for the quick reply.
There is no timbre control, so I think I'll just try combining the wires. The other speakers came with the home theatre system, there're nothing special