Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,374 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone use the Cerwin vega speakers for HT and if so what do you think. I was looking at these and they look pretty good. I think they would be a decent match for my Chase speakers that I would use for surrounds. I have not decided yet but I might do something like this in a year or so. http://www.cerwinvega.com/home-audio/floorstanding-speakers/xls-12.html

·
Banned
4,838 Posts
I have no experience with Cerwin Vega in recent years, do not think of them as a refined speaker (just loud), but that is mainly because I never hear them referred to in discussions by people who have heard a lot of good-sounding speakers. At that price you can get a pair of Arx A5's which are absolutely awesome-sounding speakers.

Insist on a 30-day eval period.

·
Premium Member
3,374 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have no experience with Cerwin Vega in recent years, do not think of them as a refined speaker (just loud), but that is mainly because I never hear them referred to in discussions by people who have heard a lot of good-sounding speakers. At that price you can get a pair of Arx A5's which are absolutely awesome-sounding speakers.

Insist on a 30-day eval period.
Well my Chase speakers have horn tweeters and I think something like the Vegas will match up better with them than the A5's. I did see the speaker comparison in which the A5's won but I do listen to alot of music and I wont lie I do play it loud. The Chase speakers are great and I love them so I don't think I will change too soon but I would love to hear from someone who owns some Vegas to see what they think. Years ago I had a pair of CV's that my son still has today and they sounded very good to me. Thanks for your input. :T

·
Premium Member
3,374 Posts
Discussion Starter #5