Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I'm new to REW and these forums. I have read a few guides on this forum on the topics of for instance what hardware to use for REW and about the hard knee house curve. There is one issue that I'm having that I have not seen mentioned in other threads so that's why I'm making this post.

Let me start off with the hardware that I'm using:

Behringer UCA-222 external USB soundcard for usage with my laptop
Behringer Xenyx 802
Behringer ECM8000 mic (with cal file from these forums)

Emotiva UMC-200 preamp
Emotiva XPA-5 amp

The problem that I have is that after I check the levels in REW and adjust the measured volume to be roughly the same as the output (by adjusting both the mic preamp on the Xenyx and volume on the UMC-200), the measurements always clip. I get 0 headroom and the warning message. If I lower the volume on for instance the UMC-200 then I can get rid of the clipping. But doing so doesn't make sense to me, since I just checked the levels before. Can anyone make any sense of this and help me figure out what is going on?

Another issue I'm having is that when everything is hooked up I'm getting some "digital noise" over the speakers. I'm guessing this has something to do with earthing and where the cables are, there are plenty of unbalanced connections so it's not strange this can happen. Not too fussed about it, but I'm guessing this influences the measurement as well, since it's not only the sweep being measured but also these "digital blips and bleeps"?

Thanks for reading! Greetings from the Netherlands. :wave:

·
Premium Member
1,562 Posts
The leveling of the volume is a step in the calibration process for the UCA-222. Once that process is completed and the loopback cable is removed then the process is complete.