Home Theater Forum and Systems banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi,

We were given a pair of Pioneer CS-G301WA 11 speakers. 12" woofers, 4.74" mid-ranges and 2.63" tweeters. The back connection is a push-in-the-wire type.

The woofers have foam rot and I have cleaned off the old foam and glue where the brittle surrounds used to be, so I can order replacements. I have never done this before, but I found a how-to at this forum with some good step-by-step pictures. My husband has replaced the entire cones on our other pair of speakers, so if I need help, I can call him. :D

But, I am curious as to what I encountered next. I hooked up these 120 watt speakers to my JVC receiver (1981 model, with capacity of 150 watts output) to see how they sound. There is distorted sound coming from the woofers, and when I gently hold the out edge of the cone to stabilize it, the sound comes out more true, as my action somewhat acts like the surrounds. I would expect this, as the surrounds are rotted away. But, there is no sound coming from either pair of mid-ranges or tweets. I can see no tears or holes. There is an electronic connection inside the cabinet, and I'm not sure what this is called - the crossover? It's just a little circuit board with a coil of copper wire wound round and a couple of capacitors. It appears in good condition - no leaks form the capacitors, if that is what they are called. The connections (spade connectors) all look good. I'm not sure how to diagnose this problem. The fellow that gave them to us said they just needed new foam edges. I am new at hi-fi and home theatre, and don't know anything about amplifiers, or the like. All of our equipment is a bit dated.

We have a volt meter tester, and can test the speaker wires, I think? (husband isn't home at the moment) I do get sound from our cabinet 2-way speakers when I use the same wiring connections to the back of the receiver.