Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everybody. This looks like a great forum. I am a total novice so excuse my ignorance. I have a problem. I have an Onkyo Receiver TX SR 605. It is some years old. Maybe 4 to 6 years. It has an Onkyo DVD player DV SP405. I also have a Samsung TV. The TV has 2 HDMI ports (I am using one) and the DVD and Receiver also have HDMI ports. It has a 7.1 sound system. I have the existing non blu ray player (an upconvert model) connect to an HDMI switch. I have a computer also connected to the switch. Everything works perfectly. I just change the switch and receiver settings as I go back and forth between computer or watching a DVD.
I have tried a Sony Bl BDP S1200 Ray /DVD player. I unplugged the existing and working HDMI cable from my Onkyo DVD player and plugged it into the Sony Blu Ray. When I do that the signal from the blu ray does not come through. The tv says no signal. If I put in Game of Thrones blu ray and wait awhile it will start playing and looks great. But I cannot access the Blu Ray player menu or any of the extras that come on the player menu. And normal DVDs will play sound but no video. I have tried other blu ray movies and get no home page or menu page. I keep getting no signal on the screen. But if I randomly start hitting keys on the remote I may get lucky and then the movie will play. sound is great when it does.

So any ideas as to how I can get a new blu ray player to play thru my system? Or do I need to buy a new receiver?

Thank you so much.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3