Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Guys

I am new to the the whole audio world- I need some help and advice in connecting these-

ONKYO CD PLAYER C-7030
Harmon kardon HK 3490 (2 channel stereo Receiver )
Emotiva Preamp- USP-1
Velodyne Impact 10
JBL L 890 towers

Harmon kardon does not have any bass management, that is the reason why I am planning to add the emotiva preamp. It has a high pass and low pass filter. I have attached a pic of the rear panel of all.

Thank you very much for your time and assistance

Attachments

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I have one question - Is the EMOTIVA USP-1 preamp compatible with the HARMON KARDON hk 3490 receiver?

·
Premium Member
5,817 Posts
It looks like it is... Just hook up your preout on the Emotiva to the main in on your HK. You would also hookup your sub directly to the Emotiva sub output. You are going to be using the receiver as a power amp only... Correct? None of the inputs on the receiver should be hooked... all inputs should be on the Emotiva.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yes , I will be using the HK3490 as a poweramp. The whole reason why I am getting a preamp with bass banagement - emotiva USP-1 is to control the bass better. I hope it will help and I will hook the subwoofer to the USP-1 directly, Mainly for music only. Looking forward to upgrade my subwoofer to a RYTHMIK-12 by christmas.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
It looks like it is... Just hook up your preout on the Emotiva to the main in on your HK. You would also hookup your sub directly to the Emotiva sub output. You are going to be using the receiver as a power amp only... Correct? None of the inputs on the receiver should be hooked... all inputs should be on the Emotiva.

Where should i hook up the preout from the EMOTIVA ? The mains ? which means do you mean? Yes I will hook my CD player to the EMOTIVA

·
Premium Member