Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Noob here, but I've used REW to determine Audyssey has given me a fairly flat response. I've been reading the guides on hard knee house curves and would really like to give it a try. Before I pull the trigger on the BFD 1124P I was hoping to get some input. Seems the consensus is to use the BFD to smooth out peaks before running Audyssey. This would leave me without being able to set a house curve b/c Audyssey is going to flatten everything out. I'm not too concerned about peaks with the sub anyways, Audyssey does a very good job itself.

So what are the downfalls if I run the BFD after Audyssey EQ's everything? I've read a few people felt it would negate the Audyssey results b/c the BFD has fewer filters. Seems like it would be ok b/c if I understand the hard knee house curve you are basically just setting a deep wide filter for one frequency anyways right?

I did find a thread at AVS that touches on the issue, reply #16 is of particular interest. http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=885535

Quote from reply #16
" I have a house curve from 75db to 80db, what I did was run the 1124 and cut everything down to about 74db. I then ran Audyssey with the eq on. After everything was set, I tooks the cuts out and set my house curve. I believe if you set the house curve before you run Audyssey it may try to cut your curve down to 75db."

·
Registered
7,514 Posts
Seems the consensus is to use the BFD to smooth out peaks before running Audyssey
Don't think so....

So what are the downfalls if I run the BFD after Audyssey EQ's everything? I've read a few people felt it would negate the Audyssey results b/c the BFD has fewer filters.
I don't know what you've been reading, but I think the consensus is to apply BFD filters after the auto setup is done.