Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I'm pretty new to this topic and would like to learn more. I can't seem to find a certain answer to the best approach for EQing a single subwoofer. Currently I'm in the market for an EQ and was strongly considering a Rane PE17 or Symetrix 551e since they have the ability to apply filters down to 10Hz. Both of these units have five filters that could be used for the sub frequencies.

Obviously this would depend on the room, but generally speaking, is five filters too few for correcting the in-room response?

I was under the impression that using the fewest filters needed for a flat response was a good approach. But then I read more and see that some (including the author of REW) suggest that many precisely placed filters is the best approach. I also read this in the references section of the Rane website.

Now I worry that the EQ's that I am considering will not have enough filters to address all of the nuances of the room resonances.

Please help.:huh:

·
Super Moderator
9,283 Posts

AFAIK, the folks who prefer lots of filters are going after the best-looking waterfall graph. However, I’ve yet to see someone show that this resulted in an audible improvement in sound quality vs. a more traditional approach. Perhaps this is because at the end of the day, an equalizer can’t improve ringing (low frequency decay times) beyond what the room naturally exhibits (see more on that here.) On the other hand, we have seen a number of people here who initially "overequalized" their subs and then re-calibrated response with fewer filters, and claimed it sounded better afterwards.