Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings folks newbie here.

I had a converstion with Parts Express on telephone and by email and got 2 different answers regarding the Dayton 15" RSS390! I am looking at an old 340 liter sealed box that housed an Adire Tempest 15". I looked at the response on winsd which looked good for my situation (large room and sub will be used for pedal tones on the digital pipe organ--good at 32 Hz and acceptable at 16 Hz) with the room and boundary gain at 250 watts.
I double checked with PE and one fellow said go for it with their 1000 watt rack amp--the other wrote back on email saying it was meant for a 3 cu ft box and therefore "will NOT work at all"...
The guy installing tehdigital pipe organ said not to go with a ported sub.
Wisdom from you folks??

·
Registered
407 Posts
Re: Dayton RSS390HF for Electric Pipe Organ PA

Asiquis,

moved your post to it's own thread to avoid distracting an existing project thread.

-Brent

·
Registered
407 Posts
Did you specify which version of the RS390 you were asking about? The HO version does look pretty good in a 3 ft^3 sealed box, IMO. The HF wants at least 6 ft^3 sealed for a .7 or lower Q.

250 watts is already enough to exceed Xmax below 27hz with the 390-HF in 340l, so going with the 1000 watt amp would just be a waste of money.

Looking at the models, 340l (12 ft^3) doesn't gain you significant output over a 6 ft^3 box with the HF. Since you've alread got the cabinet, I'd consider dropping two drivers into it for nearly a full +6dB increase over the single, with the appropriate amp(s) per driver. You do realize the DVC15 is a drop in replacement for the Tempest and is a bit cheaper than the RS series.