Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
452 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As will beocme obvious, I am not an electrical engineer.

It is my understanding that if you have a 4 ohm driver, and you input ~2 volts the driver should be consuming ~1 watt of power. If you then put a mic about 1 meter away you can try and match sensitivity specs of well documented drivers (I know that some documentation cheats by specifying 2.8 volts) Most mfrs test at 1khz, some do +-x db from a hz to b hz.

At any rate, my issue is if I hook up REW to an amp into a 4 ohm load and set the generator to play a sine wave at 20 hz, and measure the voltage across the speaker leads I get say 2.15v. If I then increase the freq to 44hz without changing anything else I get 2.65v. I assume that the difference is that the impedance is changing with frequency.

So how does one with some level of "honesty" measure the sensitivity of a speaker?

Please point me to "speaker measurement for dummies" if that's is what I need...

Paul

·
Registered
145 Posts
You are right speaker impedance varies over frequency. But so does amplifier response, even if you turn off all equalization. I'm considering doing the same thing you are - starting speaker measurements, so can't help much but am along for the ride.

Kyle

·
Banned
165 Posts
Amplifiers are ideally designed with a low output impedance so the driver impedance variation between those two measured values has minimal effect.
If your equalizer is set to flat this means that sum of all the equipment in your signal chain is giving you -1.8dB (20*log10(2.15/2.65) at 20Hz (with respect to 44Hz).
If you record both the SPL at 1m and also the voltage measured at the speaker you can calibrate out the changes caused by the varying input signal.