Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

Sorry if these questions are a bit amateurish but I'm new to this. I recently purchased a DEQ2496 and a Beyerdynamic MM1 Mic for RTA room equalization measurements. I also own a Behringer ECM8000 but after reading how these were not that accurate I decided to get the more expensive and hopefully more accurate MM1. Is anyone familiar with this Mic? The question I have is how to set the input sensitivity on the DEQ2496 for the MM1. I know the ECM8000 is set to 37 but what would the MM1 be set to? Below are some specs but I don't really understand them.

Beyerdynamic MM 1 Measurement Microphone Specifications:

* Transducer type: Condenser (back electret)
* Operating principle: Pressure
* Polar pattern: Omnidirectional, diffuse field calibrated
* Open circuit voltage at 1 kHz (0dB = 1V/Pa) : 15 mV/Pa (_ -36.5 dBV) ± 1 dB
* Nominal impedance: 330 Ohms
* Load impedance: ≥ 2.2 k Ohms
* Connector: 3-pin XLR
* Length: 133 mm
* Shaft diameter: 19 mm
* Head diameter: 9 mm
* Weight without cable: 88 g
* Frequency response: 20 - 20,000 Hz (50 - 16,000 Hz ± 1.5 dB)
* Max. SPL at 1 kHz: 128 dB
* S/N ratio rel. to 1 Pa: > 57 dB
* A-weighted equivalent SPL: approx. 28 dB(A)
* Power supply: 12 - 48 V phantom power
* Current consumption: approx. 3.4 mA

Thanks in advance.
Goodrat

·
Super Moderator
9,258 Posts

Welcome to the Forum, Goodrat!

Hate to be the bearer of bad news, but I’m not sure how much trust I’d put in the DEQ’s RTA readings. A good-quality RTA should come with its own calibrated mic. In truth, it isn’t the mic that’s calibrated, but the unit itself is calibrated for the mic it comes with – i.e., to compensate for deviations from flat in mic’s response, so that the RTA display can give an accurate reading.