Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 113 Posts

·
Premium Member
121 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there. I'm just starting out with REW and have just attempted to calibrate the sound card in my Mac Pro (mid 2010 running 10.7.5). The sound card calibration produced the following:

while the result of a measurement with the cal file in place is shown below:

I wanted to check the results as, while the variance is for the most part within +/- 0.1 db it would appear to have a lot more variance than the example depicted in the help files.

Have I made my first tentative steps correctly?

Thanks in advance

Steve

·
Super Moderator
1,921 Posts
It's probably fine, onboard soundcards aren't particularly great in general. For example, the heavy LF roll off that you can see in your calibration. The more that needs compensated for with the cal the more noise in the sound device is getting amplified... You'd get better measurement results from an external/better soundcard.

·
Premium Member
121 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks. One more basic question at this stage... Am I right in understanding that the basic setup for REW is to analyse one channel at a time or do people typically use a splitter and run stereo for their analyses?

·
Super Moderator
1,921 Posts
Yeah it is nice to be able to measure L, R, and L+R if that's what you're asking. It shouldn't be hard to come up with a way to send output to one channel at a time.

·
Premium Member
121 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks. One of the bigger issues I face at the moment is that I don't have a laptop. Lugging a Mac Pro and display around to run tests isn't fun. I presume I will be able to set things up, capture all the measurements, return everything to my desk and then analyse at my leisure.

·
Banned
4,838 Posts