Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi - I am new to the DIY audio world, but it looks interesting. I recently blew the woofers (I think - they are very muddy at the low end) in an old pair of Celestion 100 2-way speakers. The cabinets are beautiful cherry wood.

Also, I has two 12" Dayton subwoofers (one was in use with the Celestions) that lightening damaged. I know that they are amazingly inexpensive, but I also thought of just replacing the damaged components.

I've was nosing around the DIY Sound Group website and was really amazed at what is available. Too much for a newbie to digest. Should I just buy an HTM kit or play around with the salvaged equipment I have? Thanks.

Tom

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
OK, I've decided to junk the old speakers. What is available as inexpensive kits is nothing short of amazing: Overnight Sensation MTM, Chane A1.4, HTM 6 or 10, Fusion 6 or 8, even the Elusive 1099. There are no doubt others. I'll go over the Home Theater threads, but any recommendations are welcome. Thanks.

·
Super Moderator
1,921 Posts
Glad you found a solution so quickly, I will move your thread to the speaker DIY area for more attention.

·
Registered
78 Posts
When starting a "DIY" project, You need to clarify the following details :
budget, the room where you listen to music / volume /, these boxes will use them temporarily, and then I will do better, the appearance is not / or is / important and many other little things.
One advice from me:
- invest in quality speakers- the electronics / amplifier/ can always be chainge.
Joro

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #5