Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just want to say I welcome and thank all advice given in regards to my first diy subwoofer. I've recently acquired an HSU sub-driver that was utilized in HSU's VTF-MK3 model and want to utilize the driver for a DIY project. I want to stick with what HSU uses to achieve optimal results, but have an open mind to listen to what the guru's here have to say. This subwoofer will strictly be used in my home theater setup, and I want to achieve low frequency output of anywhere around 18-21hz. I have no speaker-building experience, nor do I have any software at my disposal for such things but I'm very handy and can get ahold of said-tools when needed. The T/S parameters are
FO = 29.23 Hz
Sd = 53.24m M(squared)
Vas 102.51 Ltr
BL = 13.88 T M
Qts = 0.340
SPLo = 90.42 dB

In return, I will keep everyone updated on my progress and will be providing pictures up until finish. Thanks again, Freddy

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the welcome!
Really the driver comes from the VTF-3 HO model (originally retailed $999)
Later, the driver I have was used in a VTF-MK3 model, the first one reaching output of 18hz (w/o turbocharger) and 16hz with TC while the latter model reaches down to 18hz with an even lower rated amp. These parameters were taken by someone that thoroughly reviewed the MK3 inside and out, since HSU Research doesn't give out such information.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
I'd post a link to my photobucket (but that would be against the new-member rules) so you can see the driver itself but I'll just edit it and post it here as an attachment.

Attachments

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #5