Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, this is my first time playing with the REW software. I must say, it's very interesting and quite useful if used correctly. Anyway, I have a huge peak (10+ dB) in my room around 38-40 Hz. I was wondering when you calibrate the system to 75 dB using the internal receiver's test tones, what frequencies does it play for the subwoofer? I'm wondering if the 40 Hz peak would affect my subwoofer calibration by using these test tones? If I tame that 40 Hz peak using my eQ.2, do I need to recalibrate my subwoofer?

·
Registered
199 Posts
Hi guys, this is my first time playing with the REW software. I must say, it's very interesting and quite useful if used correctly. Anyway, I have a huge peak (10+ dB) in my room around 38-40 Hz. I was wondering when you calibrate the system to 75 dB using the internal receiver's test tones, what frequencies does it play for the subwoofer? I'm wondering if the 40 Hz peak would affect my subwoofer calibration by using these test tones? If I tame that 40 Hz peak using my eQ.2, do I need to recalibrate my subwoofer?
The receiver uses pink noise, so it's not just one or two frequencies. After I EQ'd my sub I had to re-level match, but I used REW and my SPL meter because it uses the calibration file and corrects the meter's slightly inaccurate readings.

If you have a 10+ dB peak like I did, you'll most likely needs to re-level match when your finished EQing, but be sure to use the gain on the subwoofer and not the channel level in the receiver.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3