Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I am new to using this unit and am just getting used to all the funtions of it. I do have the gear to take very accurate room measurments. My question is, I hear everyone talk about this unit for sub equalization but not for full range eq purposes. Is there a particular reason for this? noise or perhaps impeadance matching problems for higher freaquencies???
Thanks,
Vince

·
Registered
93 Posts
The DEQ 2496 is much more versatile for full bandwidth equalizing and has the BFD built in. That' my .02.

Many people don't believe in using equalization. With the DEQ 2496 doing it in the digital domain I can't imagine what people are worried about. I've got quite a high end music system in a custom treated room and could not hear any degradation for this piece.

·
Super Moderator
9,280 Posts

Many people don't believe in using equalization.
I have a theory that most of those are people who have never tried it, or who did and didn’t know what they where doing and made a mess of things.

With the DEQ 2496 doing it in the digital domain I can't imagine what people are worried about.
Personally I don’t like the prospect of an extra AD/DA conversion in the signal chain. That’s why I stay with analog for the time being. Nice to know that the conversion is minimal to non-existent, at least...

Here’s a guy who recently tried some analog EQs in his system and was very happy with the results.

http://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/rew-forum/6691-my-first-rew-please-chime.html

Regards,
Wayne

·
Registered
93 Posts
"I have a theory that most of those are people who have never tried it, or who did and didn’t know what they where doing and made a mess of things."

I'm sure you're right. It amazes me too how the people who say they don't like equalizers have no facts to defend themselves.

·
Super Moderator
9,280 Posts