Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
340 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Decided to build 2 new enclosures myself.

Once i got the one built i saw that 4 was going to take up to much floor space. So i have revised my design to have the same foot print but be twice as tall. They will be about 28 cubic ft each and will hold 2 drivers and 4 PR's each.

Pic 1 is the rental Home Depot truck dropping off 8 sheets of 3/4 mdf
Pic 2 is all the panels and baffles cut to size
Pic 3 is my home made circle jig 3000 (patent pending) lol
Pic 4 outer baffel holes cut
Pic 5 test fit and alingment check of inner and outer baffel

Attachments

·
Registered
340 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Re: 1 of 4 13 cubic ft 13.5 hz tune Mal-X 18 Dual PR's build

I did all sorts of modeling, but im kind of new at this. So I don't really know when something is really good or really bad. I would like this design to be tuned below 15hz, say 13-14hz so i don't need a SSF, but when I model a box this big, tuned that low, the drivers seem like they will be over driven.

Each box will have two Gen 2 Mal-X 18's and 4-18" Exodus PR's. 28 cubic ft of net air space, 1884 grams of mass on the PR's. Powered by an EP2500 per driver.

I'm I doing somthing wrong?

·
Registered
790 Posts

Is that an EP bridged/driver or one EP channel at 4Ω/driver?

The first will exceed Xmax of the PRs at full level by a lot, the second one by just a bit. I'll post some sims with and without some filters when I know.

·
Registered
340 Posts
Discussion Starter #4

Is that an EP bridged/driver or one EP channel at 4Ω/driver?

The first will exceed Xmax of the PRs at full level by a lot, the second one by just a bit. I'll post some sims with and without some filters when I know.
One EP2500 per driver a total of 4, so 1800-2000 watts each.

·
Registered
4,418 Posts