Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking for an Amp to power a 15" TC2000. The Face F700TS caught my eye. This is definitely the most I could swallow, as far as budget, and its still hard to swallow... I just want, clean, pure power. From the little I found on these Amp, they are very high quality. Is this correct?

I'd love to spend $400 of a Crown or QSC, but I just dont know if they have the beef for my sub. Obviously, the Face Amp is twice as much, whats everyone's opinion on this line of Amps? Is the premium just for looks or a brand? It weighs 50lbs, I'm assuming it can put out its rated power.

What do you guys think. I'm new to all this Pro Amps stuff. Also considering the Elemental Designs LT1300 plate Amp.

If it matters, I have a Pioneer VSX1120 AVR. It uses RCA for preouts. I'm thinking a sealed enclosure, so no HPF necessary, correct?

Thanks

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Oh, the sub is a SVC 4ohm. The F700 is rated 1800 watts at 4ohms bridged.

I see it has dual fans. Is this a "loud" Amp? This will be in the same room as the listening, roughly 6-8ft away.

·
Registered
4,418 Posts
I know the Crowns have a good reputation and most models are rated for a 4ohm load. I'd say with being able to hear the fans running or not depends upon how loud you have the volume, alot of other Pro-amps have loud fans but can't comment on the Face Audio products.:dontknow:

·
Elite Shackster
7,142 Posts
Ive been looking at this amp because its a digital amp without fans and should be ideal for a home sub. Anyone have anything to say on this one, I have interest in Face Audio as well.

·
Elite Shackster
7,142 Posts
Well spotted. I thought the digital ones didnt use fans (I didnt see the rear picture link). Hmm, might not be as perfect as I thought, although I'm sure they are quieter than the big amps.

·
Registered
393 Posts