Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello everybody. I'm very new to all of this, I will do my best to be as precise as possible. I bought a NanoAVR HD in the hope to improve my systems sound. I've read a load of tutorials, which aren't always as clear, but still remain with alot of questions. I will go through the steps I took to get to my first measurements.
I reset speaker levels and delay EQ on my AVR (NAD T748). I then set speaker levels using gain control on the NanoAVR as well as delay/distance and then made baseline measurements. One measurement per speaker and all in the same position (could not find concrete info on measuring positions or how to handle them).

Then I let REW auto EQ make filters, added 1 or 2 of my own. Then set levels again and did another measurement. The result can be seen. In my opinion it lacks bass, not the low end perse a bit mid end I think. Not sure how to describe all of this. I will include a few screenshots and the REW mdat files. Any tips/hints are very welcome. Thanks in advance.

This is the baseline reading

And mdat data
Baseline Mdata

The measurements after applying filters

After correction mdat
Mdata after correction

The minidsp settings

·
Registered
164 Posts
Hello, It looks quite bad! If your target level in the first graph is 91.47db and in the second graph is 80.90db ( that is the horizontal line), Then I say you are quite a bit off!
Which color line should we be looking at?

Bob

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I set speaker levels at 75db at first measurement. Rew recommended a target of 72,8 for front left so I kept that number for the rest of the speakers as well. No idea if i should have done that. Should I have set levels before or after doing correction? Should target be the same for all speakers?

·
Premium Member
6,711 Posts