Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
...ok, I lied, I need a ton of help.

This is my first attempt ever at anything related to DIY audio. Thus, I went for the relatively inexpensive Dayton SD315-88. From what thickness/type of MDF, to screws, to what kind of saw would be best; I'm pretty unsure of it all. I suppose it would be best if I just jump into the questions I have.

First of all, should I go with a sealed or ported enclosure? This sub is just going to be working in a 2.1 setup that I have connected to my PC. I primarily use it for listening to music and gaming. I have a Behringer EP-1500 that I plan to use to power the sub. What thickness of MDF should I look for? As far as tools, what kind of saw do you guys recommend? A lot of people have told me that a jigsaw will suffice. I'm hoping to spend less than $150 in the saw department if at all possible. I'm guessing I will need a few clamps as well, any particular brand/type that is a favorite?

When it comes to modeling, I'm not sure where to start either. I know that WinISD is a favorite, but I've only played with it a couple of times and am not very familiar with how to use it properly. I found a post by a member named whines and it appears he built an enclosure for this exact same sub. Is he still around here? :p I saw another post by BoomieMCT and he made an enclosure for this sub, but his enclosure was more for a HT setup and was not a box like I want to build.

I realize there are probably a million more questions I'll come up with. I really appreciate all the help.

·
Premium Member
19,397 Posts