Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here are a few of my first measurements. Nearfield wo EQ, Primary listening postion sub only w/wo EQ, and full range. EQ in this case is Audyssey MultiEQ XT, Denon 4308. TASCAM US144 USB soundcard, Behringer ECM8000 mic. DIY IB (2x18" Fi Audio, Line Array), Mains=PSB Synchrony Twos, room=regular large (~7000+ cu ft) family room with hardwood floor and lots of windows, seating distance=9 feet.

Near, subwoofer only, no EQ

Center of Primary Listening postion, subwoofer only, no EQ

Center of Primary Listening postion, subwoofer only, Full EQ (Audyssey)

Center of Primary Listening postion, full range, crossover 60Hz, Full EQ (Audyssey)

Thoughts? Recommendations? Do-overs?

·
Premium Member
177 Posts
kjgarrison,

I am still pretty new at looking at REW output and will defer to others with more experience and knowledge than I have. But it looks like Audyssey is doing a pretty good job at least for the low range. I was wondering if you have tried moving your mains around to see what effect it has. Do you have any room treatments? Maybe that might help with your nulls at 55 and 75 Hz and what appears to be a dropoff above 500 Hz.
I hope this helps at least a little bit.

·
Registered
7,514 Posts
Thoughts? Recommendations? Do-overs?
You haven't calibrated your soundcard or used a calibration file for your microphone. These are necessary items required for accuracy.

The small floppy icon in the lower left corner of the REW chart will save your graph to an 800 wide jpg file. Much more convenient than posting the entire REW page.

brucek

·
Registered
486 Posts
WOW! A ~10dB boost at 6Hz. I know our IB set-ups can take some boost, but over 10dB that low. :yikes: Can you even feel it? I wish my room would support that low of Hz.

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #5