Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts
I

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all you audiophiles and sound connoisseurs! This is my first post and i'm looking for answers.

I have my setup listed. My problem is that when i use my MACC auto calibration on my reciever, my speakers sound very dull in the midbass/midrange and very bright in the high-end. I've got some nice gear (for my age and income, anyway) so i think it should sound a little better than it does. Phase seems to be alright, and i JUST downloaded the EQ Wizard and i'm going to see if i can get a plot up at some point soon. (if i can figure out how to use it) Are there any immediate pointers i could try to get speakers up to par while i'm figuring this eq wizard out?

ps. I know placement is key, and room has a deep impact (no pun intended) on the sound blah blah. I am no noob as far as home theater goes. I used to work as an installer for Tweeter for three years before I went back to school to persue more glamorous and high paying roles in society.:hush:

·
Elite Shackster
1,506 Posts
Hey Andy, welcome to the Shack! Ilikesound too :bigsmile:

It's my personal experience, and I know others will differ, that auto calibration systems often brighten things up beyond what may be desired. Best advice is to decide what sounds best for you and just go with it. You can try putting the mic at different angles relative to the speakers while you run the set up. This will tweek the response curve of the final settings and while it may not be 'correct' you may like the sound better.

If you can get REW up and running, try taking a reading with MCACC on as well as off so you can see just what exactly it is doing. Also, double check to make sure that it has set your speaker size and crossovers to something you think is resonable for your system.

I

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3