Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First,
Great site, great software, really good stuff.

After trying four different sub positions, I settled on the "best" location for sound and WAF reasons. One sub only and it is on the front wall between the TV and the right main; not in the corner but in about the 1/3 position along the wall. Room is about 20' wide by 15' deep w/ 10' ceiling, square, with a large opening on the back right corner to the living room.

Three plots follow, and I hope they attach as I am a rookie; 1st is the mains only, 2nd is the sub only, 3rd is the mains + sub.

Mains only:
Mains only Pos1.jpg

Sub only:
Sub only Pos 1.jpg

Mains + sub:
Main+Sub Pos 1.jpg

How do they look? To me, the mains + sub looks Ok, not too bad, but maybe it can be improved. I have a BFD, but it is not in use unless I need it.

Question, I have the volume knob on the sub set about halfway. If I turn it down, say to the 1/3 position, will it lower the line in the 15hz to 80hz region of the main + sub plot? I know I can test this myself and probably will tomorrow, but I wasn't sure if that was part of the standard EQ calibration process.

Thanks, and again, great site.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Ladies and Gents,

Here is the waterfall for the previous plot of mains + sub for two different time extension. The first is at 300ms, the second is at 500ms. The 300ms waterfall doesn't look so good in the lower frequency region it seems like. The 500ms is better of course. The floors in the room are tile, no area rugs, standard furniture, couch etc, and no room treatments. So I know that doesn't help any. Are these waterfall Ok, or is improvement needed? How would you improve these, room treatment, or some type of EQ?

Mains + sub, waterfall at 300ms
Main+Sub Pos 1-waterfall to 300ms.jpg

Mains + sub, waterfall at 500ms
Main+Sub Pos 1-waterfall to 500ms.jpg

Thanks

·
Registered
7,514 Posts