Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all:

Very nice thread except after reading the zero tolerance rules I'm afraid to even say aw shucks. :bigsmile:

Very nice forum, I'll do my best to mind my Ps and Qs.

I just shot most of my budget on a gorgeous Panasonic z85u 50" plasma screen and a Samsung P2500 blu ray player. Both are really great, no problems.

I have looked long and hard at Onkyo 6100 and 5100 HTIB systems as I can't go more than $600 for the near future.

My question: can I put together a component system, with all HDMI connections, (right now, just the Blu-Ray and the tv) for $600 that will compete with the 6100? I know the 5100 has HDMI pass through whereas the 6100 has 4 HDMI switching ports but other than that I'm really an amateur :innocent:when it comes to audio.

The other factor is this: for the near future at least, I have this modest little theater of mine in a made-over home office, the dimensions are about 18 x 14, and we've got the tv set up in the forward half, so the couch is 10 feet from the screen. In other words, the "home theater" occupies half of the office, there's another 8 feet or so behind the viewing area (where, nonetheless, I could put rear speakers for a 7.1 system).

Is the 6100 overkill for such a small and modest room? Would I be better off buying better quality components with, say, 5.1 instead of 7.1? I just don't know enough but want to have the best experience I can for now, with an eye to upgrade in the future.

Sorry for the long winded first post, and much obliged for any help and opinions you can share with this bald-faced newbie who dare not say d--- or h---. :whistling:

·
Registered
361 Posts
I would say it wouldn't be overkill for the 5100 or the 6100. You can always use the system as 5.1 if you need to for a smaller room. Me personally, I would put 7.1 in the bathroom if the Mrs would let me.