Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have completed my first REW tests. It looks to me that my major problems are the 2 nulls at 90 and 500 (with maybe a whole other bunch of problems) and the bass ringing <80 on the waterfall chart. I could be COMPLETELY off, so any feedback is welcomed. Any ideas? I know my gear is not that great, just wondering if there is anything I can do. Am I even looking at the right things?

Was thinking of getting two bass traps for the back 2 corners from ceiling down 4 feet to help the waterfall. Was thinking the GIK 244 bass trap with the range limiter.

I am new to REW so I included everything I could think of. I am more of a NAS, scripting, making stuff out of wood, custom theater video intro guy - this is way beyond my pay grade so ANY help, suggestions, criticisms welcomed.

Thank you for reading.

Some other background info
- There are 5 homemade acoustic panels (2'x4'x4" with Roxul) 2 printed as movie posters 3 as black
- There is a riser that the back couch sits on that is 13" high
- The area that is shaded dark brown in the floor plan has a 10" shorter ceiling (has to do with the entrance from outside the theater room)
- REW Measurements are from listening position using a UMIK-1 at 90 degrees with the 90 degree calibration file

Attachments

·
Registered
1,295 Posts
1. Awesome room man! Looks great and is very cozy feeling. Love the colors and overall appearance.
2. Just for sanity checks you can check the graph at 1/3 smoothing which simulates what your ears will percieve. I do this to help me dial in curves better.
3. Looking at the image I've attached you should try out a curve more like what I drew in and listen and see what you think. This is of course all personal preference but I think your a tad hot on the midbass range and your 6-9k could go down a tad imho.