Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
As a newbie I am not sure where to put this but arising out of discussion on Horns with Dylan here is a list of musical instruments with their frequency ranges. It should be useful to all Shacksters.

Musical Instruments - Frequency ranges:
Approximate or typical values in Hz. Fundamentals only.

Organ, 32 ft pipe 16 to 8k Hz
Piano, full size grand 27.5 - A, to 4186, top C
Harp 30 to 2500
Double Bassoon 33 to 350
Double Bass 41 to 380
Bass Tuba 42 to 380
Timpani 45 to ?
Bassoon 60 to 700
French Horn 70 to 600
'Cello 70 to 850
Bass Clarinet 75 to 700
Guitar 82 to 700
Trombone 85 to 500
Snare Drum 80 to ?
Kettle Drum 96 to ?
Banjo 110 to 800
Viola 150 to 1500
Clarinet 150 to 1700
Trumpet 190 to 980
Violin 196 to 3200
Oboe 210 to 1700
Flute 300 to 2500
Cymbals about 350 to 16000
Piccolo 450 to 3800

Human voice
Bass 90 to 300
Baritone 110 to 400
Tenor 150 to 500
Alto 190 to 700
Soprano 280 to 1050

The upper limits of drums are not stated as it is more about transients than frequency.
Stuart

·
Registered
1,363 Posts
Thanks for posting this, Stuart! An organ piece that I like to listen to is Toccata and Fugue in D minor (a lot of people here at the shack use this to test out their sub to :T). It has great low frequency parts in it, and almost all of the musicians that play it have great techniques.

·
Registered
452 Posts
An organ piece that I like to listen to is Toccata and Fugue in D minor (a lot of people here at the shack use this to test out their sub to :T). It has great low frequency parts in it, and almost all of the musicians that play it have great techniques.
Dylan,
What's the source that you recommend for this test recording (CD I assume)? I know some of the Telac titles of past were good reference material for low frequency material (organ music mostly).

·
Registered
1,648 Posts