Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
193 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, all,

My name is Eric Bragg. I am 45, living near Fort Smith, AR.

I started as a songwriter/musician in school, playing piano and singing; everything from choir to rock & roll bands. Joined the military in the 80's and was stationed in England, started a band that played all the "challenging stuff" - Rush, Yes, Kansas, Styx, Pink Floyd.

After my 4 year tour, I got out and earned a degree in Electrical Engineering. I specialized in digital signal processing, due to my interest in DAW software. Along the way, I took some Mechanical Engineering classes in acoustics.

I worked in the field of electrical engineering for about 10 years, during which I delved into live music for a while, then decided to build a business in recording. After 5 years, I and a colleague held the exclusive recording and live sound contract for the Indianapolis Men's and Women's Choirs. We also recorded live jazz and orchestral music around the city, while sponsoring some underground local artists and holding shows in the Fountain Square (artistic district) ... where I lived: thus the name of my business, "Fountain Square House". It was an evening and weekend business, as I remained a software design geek during normal business hours.

In late 2005, I gave up my electronics profession and accepted a full-time position as manager/first engineer at Encounter Music, Inc., a small commercial recording studio in Fort Smith, AR. After about a year, I convinced the directors to expand the studio layout. I designed and treated all the rooms, created an internship schedule and taught hands-on and classroom physics, as applied toward studio electronics, acoustic treatment, mixing techniques, and client relationships.