Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
just was wondering what the pro's and con's of different port placements are. just got done with a project and wanted to know before i built but no one on the other forums could answer this.

·
Registered
1,585 Posts
Pro for Front Firing
Can be placed against a wall -- you need some room behind most speakers, but more so when you have a port.

Pro for Rear Firing
Less likely to hear any chuffing coming from the port

I'm not sure there are any other reasons.

But, despite my online bravado, I'm no expert, so hopefully someone else can chime in. :hide:

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
yeah thats what i figured. i also thought about sound from the mid coming through the port as well because the end of the port is a few inches behind the mid. but i guess it really is this simple lol

well heres some pics of my project just for kicks anyway.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Howdy,
I'm in the process of doing my first build and have gone with the front firing ports for the reasons above. I'm no expert on design but am working on the theory that having the ports on the front will reduce the proximity effect when placed close to walls.
They look like some nice cab's. What timber have you used for the baffle?

Cheers,
Andrew.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
thanks. the baffle is birch. just be careful to pick a sheet with little to no knots in the wood.

·
Registered
1,585 Posts
Very nice. YOu of course need to give more details.. like drivers used, goal designs etc.

I thought of soemthing else to add in the front or back firing port -- I just finished a new speaker design where the port fires to the side. The side firing port came about because:
  • We wanted the low end extension
  • The ultimate owner of the box wanted a shallow box
  • Probably because it's going to be set up against the wall.