Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello and thank you for all the great things this forum and the REW developers / tutors do. Amazing stuff!

So I am new to this program and running associated test measurements. I do have a background in audio engineering (new school audio engineering, I record and mix music for a living). When I was at school 15 years ago we studied SMAART but I never used it outside of class. I do understand a some of the theory behind impulse response measurements and the terminology behind it. What I am not used to is using this knowledge in a practical way because I have very little hands on experience with it.

I bought some new monitors for work and thought I would dive into this area again after all these years. The new speakers got me pretty excited I guess and I want my mixes to translate better faster outside the studio.

So the nitty gritty of my questions and observations. Sorry for the long post.

I have a a a pair of JBL LSR 4328P monitors. My room is pretty much untreated and typical 15X12X12.
The new JBL speakers are unquestionably better sounding than my old paradigm ones. The mid-range clarity is just night and day better plus the extended lows and highs.

I download REW, and Equalizer APO, read and read some more. Making test measurements after calibrating my soundcard and loading a generic calibration file for the Radio Shack SPL meter I have (Got a calibration mic ordered so measurements will get better I assume).

Process is

Calibrate soundcard
Load SPL meter calibration - C weighted
calibrate SPL
set the settings to correct speaker settings (full range bass limited) 50Hz cutoff 12dB/Octave.
make measurement with Pink Noise PM

Questions