Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone,

I am looking for receiver recommendations for a 2.0 setup consisting of Energy RC-70s. I plan on adding a subwoofer in the future. My receiver budget is $400 (in case some $900 receiver is on sale for $400). I'd like to keep it at $250-$300 though.

Since I am a noob, I have a few questions:

1) Max amp 250W for the system. Does this mean a receiver should be able to send 125W to the system? (assuming RMS is calculated the same way for both)

2) What would cause a speaker setup to be damaged? If an amp sends 140W per channel and the max amp is 250W, would that be damaging?

3) Does a 5.1 or 7.1 receiver seem fine for a 2.1 setup?

Thanks

·
Registered
919 Posts
1) Max amp 250W for the system. Does this mean a receiver should be able to send 125W to the system? (assuming RMS is calculated the same way for both)
Yes. From what I can see, those speakers are rated 250W RMS (which is continual power not max power), they should be able to handle shorts bursts above 250W. The speakers should handle 125W RMS (continual power) without problem unless the amp is clipping.
In case you didn't know, a 500W amp is not always sending 500W to the speakers. At lower volume levels the amp uses lower power (i.e. 5W), at higher volumes the amp uses higher power (i.e. 500W).
The speakers may be rated for 250W RMS (continual power) but that doesn't mean they need a 250W amp to sound proper. An amp rated at 40W RMS may be all you need if you listen at lower volume levels. But if you use an amp rated for 40W RMS and you continually crank the volume knob up above the 3/4 mark to get the volume you desire, then you may be pushing the amp too hard causing it to clip (distortion). In that case you would probably do well with a more powerful amp (i.e. 100W RMS).