Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts
D

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all - diy novice here. I'm going to start my sub build soon, but need quite a bit of help on the design. Here's a quick rundown on the basics:

Room - approx 2400ft^3

Use - 95% HT/TV - rarely game or play music

Box size limit - the absolute max is 27x33x20. I would put me in the advanced category as far as woodworking goes, and I have access to any tools I may need, so no problem there.

Amp - Leaning towards an EP2500. I may in the future decide to do a second sub, so it would be nice to not have to buy a second amp.

Driver - wide open here. Budget is about $200 - $250.

Major Limitation - Here's the problem. I own a townhouse, so 2 walls are shared. That means I can never play anywhere near reference levels. I am hoping to move into a house in the next couple years, so I want something that that will play clean at low levels for now, but will be very capable once I move.

So my question is, what would be a good driver/enclosure combination given the size considerations? Any thoughts and ideas would be a huge help - I'm hoping to start cutting wood next weekend. Thanks in advance.

·
Premium Member
19,397 Posts
A box 27x33x20 will give about 8.5 cu.ft. internal volume. The best you can do in that size and price range would be a Mach 5 Audio IXL-15.2.2 for $220 shipped. A round port 8 inch diameter and 54 inches long would deal with the port air speed. Or a slot port with the same surface area and same length. The net volume of the box would be about 7 cu.ft. after all deductions. SPL would be 114db down to 17 hz, plus room gain, with 1000 watts input power.

D

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
How would the Mach 5 compare to the tempest-x in the same size enclosure? Perhaps I've read wrong, but from what I understand the tempest is the better performer? I don't really remember reading too much about the IXL, so I could be way off.