Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello. I am a software engineer. Also a former cabinetmaker and avid do it yourselfer. Currently renovating my family room and turning it into a modest home theater. Typical married situation restricts audio budget and aesthetics (still love her).

I've been reading some of the threads here, and am impressed with the knowledge and thoughtfulness of the participants. I think it was here that I first heard about Axiom speakers while I was looking to upgrade for the new home theater. Was nervous about buying without hearing them, but planned on returning them if not satisfied. Fortunately, I am very happy with them. I have modest budget and expectations, but they really sound good to me. Could probably use some help in the frequencies just above the subwoofer, but I will test and see.

Have:
  • Amps: ~7 year old Panasonic A/V amp that seems to work well, Older Sony drives the subwoofer
  • Subwoofer: 12" passive Radio Shack (Optimus) ported
  • L/R: Axiom W3 in-walls
  • Center: Pioneer something
  • Satellites: Radio Shack (Optimus) cheapies. Going to paint them wall color.
  • TV: Panasonic 50" plasma, 1280i
  • DVD: ? I forget
  • TV source: Dish Network w/ HD DVR
  • Remote: cheap Radio Shack learning universal. Just ran out of memory when I tried to teach it from the dimmer remote.
a .

Looking to test frequency response for the system and probably get a parametric amp for the sub, maybe a sub amp, maybe put together a new sub with an 18" Dayton sub driver, ...