Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm an audio engineer with 25+ years experience high speed duplicating audio cassete tapes, now going to waste as I manage the infrastructure of what has turned into a huge call center.

I love my home theater, updated many times over the years.

My current setup includes a 50" Pioneer Kuro plasma TV, Denon 4803ci receiver, Def Tech Supertowers in the front, Mythos 10 center, Mythos Gem XLs in the rear, Sunfire D-12 sub, Squeezebox, Toshia HD DVD, WII, Sony 200 CD carousel, DirecTV HD DVR x2, Sony DVD w/SACD, Samsung DVD/VHS player-recorder, 500+ each DVDs and CDs, 2x 1TB network servers loaded, Harmony remotes x 2, Dell XPS w/everything. I use 12 gauge zip cord for speaker cables and connect everything thru the receiver with $15 HDMI or optical cables.

The Denon has Audessey & I own an Avia disk, an SPL meter and lots of other calibration tools. In the end I tweaked everything so it sounded and looked good to me - calibrated perfectly for my ears and eyes. Who cares what the 'scope or the meter says? I paid for it, I listen to it and look at it, and it sounds and looks great to me. Sometimes I think my friends and neighbors are impressed, too. :)

Next big wish: wireless HDMI so I can hang a 42" lcd in the dinette! BluRay is coming for Xmas in the form of a Playstation3.

JustDave1

·
Banned
22,577 Posts
Welcome to Home Theater Shack!

Howdy there JustDave1 and welcome to the Shack!

We hope you find yourself hanging with us regularly... :T

Sonnie

·
Plain ole user
11,121 Posts
Welcome to the Shack JustDave1. What part of Central Florida are you?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I live in Clermont and work in Orlando. I first moved to Central Florida in the early 70s at the Angibilt downtown and gradually moved west thru downtown, Pine Hills, and Winter Garden; I've lived in Clermont for the last 11 years.

·
Registered
3,251 Posts
Welcome :wave: