Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Brand new at this and my eyeballs are bleeding after lurking on several HT boards out there, but I've settled on this place to get some information (thanks well in advance).

I have my projector setup and for my first pass at this, I want to go with a painted screen. I'm thinking a gray screen would be best. I have windows (with BO shades) but for 80% of the usage, this will be in the evening. I have dark colored walls, but light ceilings and carpet.

I am not an audiophile or videophile. I am just a scientist who wants to set up a sweet room for me and my boys to play xbox and some movies. I already have a Dolby Pro Logic IIz 7.1 setup and a perfect 112 inch cutout on the wall for a 122" 16:9 screen (use to have some built-ins and just a 42" plasma). I am about done with my wall prep and looking for input on the paint front.

I have a SW and BM store very close to me (and I have always been happy with their paints for all of my other needs) so I wanted to see what might be some decent options for me. Here's a rough sketch of my upstairs room.

I was planning on leaving 3 inches on each side and going with some form of a 2" border (which I also need some input on as well).

Again...major thanks to all who take the time to look!

·
Banned
14,914 Posts
I would go with a N8 or even a N7 tinted neutral gray. That pj is pretty bright according tot he calculator. Did you happen to notice the mounting distance for it? It's 12'2"-14'7" for a 112" screen. According to your sketch, you're putting the pj back too far for a 112" screen - you have it at 15'2".

Welcome to HTS! :T

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
mechman, thanks for the input!

It was a typo...a 122" screen (I updated my post) the length of the cut out is 112" width wise. So the PJ placement works...well, its already installed so I got that much done :D