Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone. Im a newbie and in the process of building my whole system from scratch. Right now I am finishing up a TV Stand/Subwoofer which I received alot of help with from everyone on here (especially Mike P.). Now I am in the designing process of making my front towers. I have purchased all of the speakers and need to know a few things. Right now I have 2 10" Polk Subs for the drivers. These were used in some PSW??? standalone subwoofers that Polk makes. I think these will work great and add even more low end with my Adire 15" TV Stand/Subwoofer. Theres a pic at the bottom of this post.

Now, as for the mids and tweets. I picked up some car audio mids and tweets that I heard and liked. They were very affordable. Keep in mind that this is a budget build. They are called C4. I need to know what you guys think of these and to make sure that they will work for my application. I plan on running 2 mids and 2 tweets per speaker. They will be run from a different amp than the 10" polks. So each speaker will be bi-amped. I also wanted to know if I can use the crossovers that came with the speakers. They are 4 ohm and my amp is very capable of running at that. Since I have 2 sets for each speaker, I can actually run them at 8 ohm. Let me know what you guys think, or if its a total waste of my time. This is all I have for the specs on the mids and tweets:

Woofer: Silver die cast aluminum basket cutting finish, black woven kavier fiber glass compound cone, rubber suround.

Tweeter: 25mm Silk dome, neodymium magnet, Aluminum housing for clarity, high frequency up to 30K Hz, low resonance at 1100 Hz.

Crossover: High quality glass fiber board, 4000 Hz frequency response 12dB/octave. Tweeter protection.

Specs:
Woofer size: 179mm
Woofer V.C. Dia: 26mm
Tweeter V.C. Dia.: 25mm
System Impedance: 4 Ohms
Power Handling (RMS): 150 watts
Power Handling (Max): 300 watts