Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
I am in need of a new sub. Unfortunately, I only have a budget of $300. While doing research on buying a used sub I ran across a DIY build and have chosen to go that rout. This is my first build so please forgive my questions.

My Room:
15'x12' listening area
24'x12' total room size (there is no wall in between my living room and kitchen)
8½' ceilings
sub placement will be restricted to the back corner of listening area

System:
Denon AVR-5700
RBH TK-5 Towers and center
Mirage nanostat surrounds

My listening habits are 50/50

I have purchase an original Tempest 15"($60) to start and was thinking of building a sealed enclosure.
I have been playing with Winisd and believe that a 22"Wx20"Dx18"H box is what I need. Also I have been looking for an amp and found the Foster WF-100K. According to the literature two of these can be bridged for 220W at 8 Ω.

Now for the questions. Is a sealed sub the best way to go for this speaker? If so are my dimensions correct? Are these amps OK or should I look for something else. I have also read up some on the BFD and would like to know if it will help with the response for movies? Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

·
Premium Member
19,397 Posts
22"Wx20"Dx18"H is about 3.2 cu.ft. net and much too small for any HT application. A pair of Foster WF-100K's can be bridged for 8 ohms but the sub can't be wired for 8 ohms since the sub is dual 8 ohm coils. Your only option with two amps is run each amp per coil and get 80 watts from each amp for a total of 160 watts. The default boost in the Foster amps would need to be eliminated.

4.8 cu.ft would have a Q of .707. Powered by a Bash 300 watt amp for $149 it have a 6 db advantage at 20 hz over the smaller box and Foster amps.

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=300-750

Tempest.JPG

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3