Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

After a bit of googling, my head is now spinning. And I came across this forum which looked very helpful. If only I understood half of what you guys were talking about :-(

Will give a brief rundown of my situation, then what I am looking for and will appreciate any solutions offered. But remember, I'm a noob and I don't know what the acronyms all mean, so I appreciate yur patience in helping explain in laymans terms.

Situation
I have moved from Australia to USA. Prior to moving, I had built up a collection of 400 dvds. Most of which have region encoding meaning I can only watch on a Region free or Region 4 encoded dvd player. Also, my dvd's i presume are encoded for PAL, where as, it looks like American tv's are encoded to NTSC. (I have no idea how that affects my dvd's as they are still being shipped).

The house currently runs on a simple wireless router, so will likely need to do some cabling, so will be drilling holes and stuff (thats gonna be fun as I am the opposite of a handyman)

I think I am looking for a media solution that involves a hard drive (with growth) and a media server. I have tried reading the threads on here, but they refer to things such as Cat6/Cat5, NAS. And talk about using them but I don't know what the installation requirements are.

Looking for
1 - Storage Solution for DVD's that will work for all regions + PAL & NTSC encoded discs
2 - Network Solution to allow those saved DVD's to be played from multiple TV's
3 - Physical Storage solution for the resulting IT setup (ie, how the hell does one buy a server/computer cabinet that they know will fit their IT at home? Are these all standardised?
4 - User friendly input & output - ie it should be easy for my even less IT savvy girlfriend to buy a dvd, inset into drive, copy to hard drive, and then navigate with ease with a remote to choose and select a movie / tv show / music.