Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m rebuilding a stereo system after having to pack it away for a decade. My listening tastes have changed over the years and I now find myself wanting a sub to fill in the lowest instruments. I’d like to build it because I’m a woodworker and I can produce something better than what I can afford to buy. The problem is that everything I once knew about speaker design I’ve forgotten. I don’t have a huge interest in relearning it all, so I am looking to you guys to help me pick out and existing design to build. It’ll be paired with Focal Aria 936 speakers, which are supposedly 3dB down at 40Hz but I haven’t had a chance to measure and confirm that. Here’s what I’m thinking about requirements for it right now:

1) Plays down to AT LEAST B0 (30.868Hz). This is required because I listen to a lot of bass music (as in bass guitar, string bass, etc since I used to play one). Playing down to C0 (16.352Hz) would be fantastic, but I have a feeling it’s not reasonable to do. This would be nice because I listen to recordings that include organs with as long as 64’ stops.

2) High SPL NOT REQUIRED! I HATE loud noises. Everyone else’s bass is always too loud. In fact, I stopped going to movies at the theatre because they were too loud. When I have turned up the music really loud just to see what my system would sound like, the loudest I’ve been able to go is about 70dB A-weighted, slow response before I think it’s just too loud and have to turn it back down. Figuring a best-case peak to mean dynamic range of 20dB, that suggests I have no need for the sub to ever go louder than 90dB.

3) Size is not a primary limitation. While I would certainly prefer something closer to the size of an end table than a small car, the truth is I do have more space to work with than I bet most people do.

4) This is for music only. I don’t even own a TV to watch movies on.