Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to this type of amp/connections and have a few questions on how to connect my Yamaha receiver-amp- sub combination;

1. Do I need one RCA(male) to XLR(male) cable to go from the one sub preout output of my receiver to one of the Peavey's XLR (Either A/B) inputs or do I need two RCA(male) to XLR(male) cables to go from a Y RCA cable adapter connected to the receiver's preout to the dual XLR inputs of the peavey amp?

2. I bought one Speakon (4-pin) connector. Do I need two of them to to connect the two subs I have, a dual sealed opposed sub system, to the Peavey amp which will run in stereo mode? If so, I will also need two Speakon cables (male to male) to go from the amp's dual Speakon outputs to the two Speakon sub connectors, right? I need a cable of about 10', will 14ga be sufficient? Also, do I connect each sub to the +1/-1 pins of each Speakon connector? The Speakon cable does the job of electrical wire to carry the "juice" to the subs, only better, right? Thanks.

·
Registered
1,747 Posts
1. Do I need one RCA(male) to XLR(male) cable to go from the one sub preout output of my receiver to one of the Peavey's XLR (Either A/B) inputs or do I need two RCA(male) to XLR(male) cables to go from a Y RCA cable adapter connected to the receiver's preout to the dual XLR inputs of the peavey amp?
If you've two subwoofers being driven off the peavy, you want a Y adaptor driving each individual channel of the peavey separately. If you're only driving one subwoofer, there is no point in a y-adaptor.

2. I bought one Speakon (4-pin) connector. Do I need two of them to to connect the two subs I have, a dual sealed opposed sub system, to the Peavey amp which will run in stereo mode?
Yes. Each amplifier output needs to connect to each individual driver.