Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts
B

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm a complete newb and don't understand nothing about the measurement I did, so could someone tell me how bad is my graph?
I used a digital splmeter (ar824) using C weighing, fast and level at 60, xo on sub at 80. Unplugged both speakers leaving only the sub (ACI Titan).
Any help of where my problems are will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance

Attachments

·
Registered
7,514 Posts
You would benefit from equalization. The room is providing some nice boost at 20Hz, but you would want to reduce that peak down to the level of the 30Hz area. The same can be said for the 40Hz peak. It would be especially noticable. Pretty good response though for a sub with a spec of 20-250Hz ± 3db.

The signal rise at about 18Hz is the signal going into the noise. It can be ignored below that dip. It's not signal.

The area from 45Hz-55Hz may respond to a bit of gain, but sometimes gain filters can be more trouble than they're worth.

Next you need to measure with the mains turned on and check the area around the crossover. The phase control on the sub (and sometimes the distance control on the receiver) can be used to clear trouble there.

My comments assume you have an equalizer... i.e. BFD FBQ.....

fast and level at 60
No, use slow and set your targets and listening position levels to 75dBSPL.

brucek

B

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you for the reply.
About your comments bruce:
My comments assume you have an equalizer... i.e. BFD FBQ.....
Nope, I don't have, just treated my room with 6 absorbers and 17 bass traps and tested the room to see the corrections I have to do (preferably without using an eq)
It's a dedicated room for listening only stereo music.

Back to the graphs
I made a mistake on my earlier post, the test was performed with the splmeter set to slow, and aprox at 75 db adjusting the sub vol.