Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts
D

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I am looking to make a small sound system for personal use. I have some electrical experience, but none with the workings of speakers. I want to use as little space as possible. Ideally it would be a 5.1 system, or close to it. The volume would normally be low to mid.

Possible Specs:
4 or 5 Full Range 3" : http://www.madisound.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=83
1 tweeter : http://www.madisound.com/catalog/product_info.php?manufacturers_id=121&products_id=1767
1 subwoofer : http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=130249642029&ssPageName=STRK:MEWA:IT&ih=003 (maybe)

Now for the questions that show how new I am to this.
What extra components would I need to make a control panel for the speakers and sub? Where would I get them? Would it be easier to have 4 speakers (2 front, 2 rear) rather than 5 (2 front, 2 rear, 1 center) if it is easier, would it be worth the extra speaker for better quality?

I really need some guiding through this. I am not in a rush to complete it, but the sooner the better.

Thanks,
Ben

·
Registered
1,585 Posts
I'm glad that you're interested in building your own speakers. I just love this stuff!

Now, for the bad news, although those drivers you've selected may make a great speaker, without a lot of investigation, sweat, learning, etc, building a good speaker is unlikely to bring you the results you're looking for unless you already know what you're doing.

Now for the good news, there are a lot of people out there with some know how that are willing to share their designs for the public to use.

If I were you, I'd serious look at some of those kits that are available and build one of those.

There are some good designs on places like Madisound, Zalytron and Zaph Audio. You're bound to find a design that meets your size and budget constraints.