Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
guys, need help... I've decided to install ATMOS in my HT and wanted to take the chance to reconfigure my HT. But I'm kind of stuck cos I'm not too experienced in overhead and height configs to optimise the immersive sound. :-\

My limitations are:
- my couch is against the wall, and that cannot change due to WAF.
- wife don't prefer speaker stands for surrounds, so surrounds are to be mounted to the wall.

My current config is 5.2.

Now, my new project. I have 6x Anthony Gallo micros to play with - 2x will be used to replace my current surrounds; the other 4x used for overhead/height speakers.

Can help to see if option 1 or 2 below is better? Feel free to propose if u feel there are better alternatives :)

Current Layout:

Option 1 (5.2.4)

Option 2 (7.2.2)

Thanks in advance!

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts
To be honest, Im not sure you would gain anything by adding Atmos to your current seating arrangement. Having the seating against the rear wall really negates any possible advantage to having speakers in the ceiling as you simply wont hear them because they will be so close to the rear wall reflection point as well as the rear surround speakers.

·
Registered
4,015 Posts
Nice room. I think the best solution would be to lower your current surrounds(as noted) and go 5.2.2.
x.x.4 needs airspace behind the LP to be effective. I'm not sure about 2 atmos and 2 front height speakers, and I think that due to the difference processing and playback, they'd compete instead of work together. I'm not even sure if a system will playback in that layout. :eek:ld dude:

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #4