Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Built the Statement Monitors and love them and now I am going to build a sub.

I only have room for one and it will be put in the corner behind my tv. I am planning on going with the SI 18 HT in a sonotube for ease of the build, moving it, and the enclosure needs to be tall.

I'm a noob when it comes to actually understanding all of the technical stuff so a little help is needed. The sub can be a total of 5'3" tall and about 24" diameter (not as critical). I would like a tune as low as possible with this size. I also need input on an amp, dsp, ect. I'm not really sure what all I have to have.

Thanks for any help!

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Wood- I did see your build and I can't wait to see them finished. Either I missed it or you didn't say what you are using to power them and anything about dsp. I'm pretty unfamiliar with all that so I'm not sure what I need or absolutely have to have.

Also, what ohm rating should I get? Should I shoot for running an 8ohm load since it's easier on the amp?

·
Registered
315 Posts
Get 4 ohm. Use a pro amp. I like Behringer. I used an EP4K for a few years with no trouble. I upgraded to an iNuke 6000 for the new 18's (probably didn't need to honestly, nervous energy). You'll need some kind of DSP based EQ for a high pass filter. Some say you don't need it for LLT. I was able to get rid of some bottoming by using a MiniDSP (click my sig link). Plus, whether it's an iNuke built-in DSP, or MiniDSP, you'll pick up the ability to do some important "room fitting", ie, kill response peaks and applying some amount of "house curve" (boosting the lows) if you like.

You really should be able to do all of your design using just the SonoSub software. Just make your port 8-1/2" like mine, and you don't even need to mess with WinISD.

http://www.subwoofer-builder.com/sonosub.htm