Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Several years ago I heard a tech demo involving a Bag End ELF subwoofer setup and was very impressed. I would like to get a subwoofer that similarly goes very low. I don't need loud; this will be paired with JBL LSR308s in a small apartment. I would just like a sub that goes low and stays linear.

I would like to spend around $500 or less if possible.

I considered the Bag End Infrasub 12, but these seem out of date (and hard to find). I would prefer something class D, that doesn't require an outboard DSP.

This would be used for both music and movies.

Size and wife-acceptability are not major concerns.

·
Registered
2,261 Posts
Welcome to HTS, uberchris! I'm no expert, but I'm sure some will check in here. But I did just finish a week or two learning about and auditioning my first real HT sub. I say "real" because my original sub only reached 28Hz (on paper). Again, I'm not quite sure, but I think low price and deep extension are mutually exclusive--can't have your cake and eat it, too. A wiser man than I once said on this forum, "How low do you want to spend." You didn't say how low is "low" but if you're talking subsonic region below 20Hz, you can expect to pay about twice your budget.

Even if you can wait for others to chime-in, I'd give either Ed at SVS or Tom at PSA a call. They're top-rated subs are second only to their customer service. Free shipping, free returns & 5 year warranty = a no-brainer risk-free trial!

·
HTS Moderator , Reviewer
3,371 Posts
Several years ago I heard a tech demo involving a Bag End ELF subwoofer setup and was very impressed. I would like to get a subwoofer that similarly goes very low. I don't need loud; this will be paired with JBL LSR308s in a small apartment. I would just like a sub that goes low and stays linear.