Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone! This is my first time setting up a home theater system, and I would appreciate some help picking out the speakers. Right now, I'm looking at picking up an Onkyo TX-NR609 (ASIN: B004O0TRD8) receiver, and either Onkyo SKS-HT540 (ASIN: B000GU78Z4) or SLS Q-Line Gold (ASIN: B003FCVL6W) speakers. (I can't post links yet, hence the ASINs.)

I selected the TX-NR609 because of its many HDMI inputs, its PC input, and unless I'm mistaken, its highly competitive price. I was also looking at the ONKYO HT-RC360, and couldn't find many differences, but I'm still looking into that.

I selected the SKS-HT540 based on the price and the specs. It looks like these speakers could out perform more expensive 5.x options. I do not need a 7.x setup, as my room isn't that big (sorry, I don't have the dimensions), but I would like to get the best speakers I can (obviously).

I stumbled across the SLS Q-Line Gold speakers and thought they looked like a competitive option, but I've had a lot of difficulty finding any technical information about them, which has lead me here.

How do you think the SLS Q-Line Gold speakers compare to the SKS-HT540's? In either case I'll probably buy the subwoofer separately, even though the Onkyo speakers come with one. Any other thoughts or advice relating to this setup? I haven't purchased anything yet, so everything is still up in the air. I know for certain that I will be connecting three composite, and at least three HDMI sources.

Sorry for the jumbled post. Normally I'd clean it up, but I'm rather short on time at the moment. Let me know if I've left anything out, or if you have any questions. Thanks!

·
Registered
119 Posts
We need more information from you. What is your budget for speakers? What are your listening priorities, home theater to music in percentage.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·