Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello!

I am completely new to this... I own absolutely no audio equipment. Please help me set up something decent.

I would like to get a turntable. I'd also like to connect my laptop to the speakers that I'd need for the turntable. That's pretty much it.

I live in an apartment, and so I do not need crazy volume. I'd just like a decent sound quality for listening to records and for my computer. I listen to jazz and classical music.

My budget is low. I could put $300 now, but could keep on building up my system over the years.

As I understand it, I'd need:
A turntable. Preferably manual, not automatic, and belt-driven to diminish vibrations.

If the turntable doesn't come with a pre amp, I'd need to get one too.

A receiver. Or possibly just an amp, I do not know. I don't understand the difference.

Speakers.

The necessary cables to hook at of this up.

Am I missing anything?

Could any of you kind folks give me hardware recommendations, or reviews about what I've found so far?

Possible turntables. Budget: $100.
Pyle PLTTB1. ( would need a pre-amp)
or
Pyle PLTTB3U.
or maybe:
Audio Technica AT-LP60

Speaker-wise and receiver/amp-wise, I have no clue at all what I should get! I'm thinking a Polk Audio Monitor 30s might be good, but idk. I'd appreciate suggestions. Budget: $200.

Thanks a lot! :D

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
No reply? Aww

Anyway, what about any of these receivers? All can be gotten on Amazon for about $100+shipping, but they're only available used.
ONKYO TX-8511
Onkyo TX-DS575
Onkyo TX-SR502

For turntables, would you say that it'd be worth it for me to pay a bit over double to get the Audio-Technica AT-LP120-USB instead of the Audio Technica AT-LP60?

And finally, for speakers, would the Polk Audio Monitor 30 be decent enough?