Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,
I am a total newbie trying to set up a home theater. I have polk rti5, csi4, fxi4, polk woofer pro 500 with onkyo 876. I am still not getting the best sound out of the system. So I decided to join in here and learn how to calibrate the HTS. Soon I will be taking measurements and try to EQ. Everyone here seem to EQ only the bass. Is there any way I can EQ all the 7.1 channels? What will be the best equalizer to buy ? Any help is appreciated. Pnkflyd

·
Premium Member
15,054 Posts
Hi Phil,
Welcome to the Shack.

Lets back up a bit here, what have you done already to set up the receiver with the speakers. Have you done the Auddessy setup properly meaning setting the mic up on a trypod where you sit (pointed up)and reading at least 5 positions?

·
Super Moderator
9,252 Posts

Most receivers these days are able to accomplish acceptable equalizing for the main channels. If you want outboard equalization, you’ll need not only one equalizer per channel, but outboard amplifiers as well. That can easily add another $1000 or more to your system cost, and that’s if you buy used gear.

Regards,
Wayne

·
Banned
440 Posts
It’s your party and you want to be online. Go and have some fun.
Happy birthday :yay: Wayne

Buy the AVR cheap with most of the good trimmings on it then spend like Wayne says on additional EQ and amps even though in few DCX2496 to manage the LCRS/LFE.1. Most cinemas now are moving towards loudspeaker management crossover systems from dbx but that will cost you an arm and leg and home cinema doesn’t make any profit returns so use an alternative route that will only be in the hundreds per item.

dbx is well into the £$3K DCX2496 is in the hundreds. Most the Behreinger amps are within the hundreds even their DEQ2496 and it will still provided satisfactory results.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Hi Phil,
Welcome to the Shack.