Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Help with Enclosure design (Update)

Hey guys,

This is my first attempt at building a sub. Original thread here http://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/diy-subwoofers/19981-help-noob-please.html

I finally got the Oaudio 300 and the Titanic MK-III and will now be building the enclosure. I tried to model WinISD but the final output is completely off.

Can you please tell me what i am doing wrong?

Thanks so much.

·
Registered
177 Posts
You are putting it in a .2 cubic foot box. Bump that up to around 3 to 6 cubic feet and tune it to between 18 and 22 hz see if that helps.

·
Registered
311 Posts
I'm coming up with about the same thing that Mike did. 3.5cubic feet (99liters) tuned to 21hz. You'll exceed excursion around 17 hz on the 300watts you said you have. Tuning lower would protect the woofer at lower frequencies but it would also REALLY compromise upper end extension. Here are the graphs I've come up with in Unibox.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks Derek. Here is what i got when I tried the other measurements.

and this is what I got.. Mike gave me this design in the Titan MK IIIprevious thread, and I am just trying to understand why I am not getting the same results..

·
Registered
1,363 Posts
One thing that might be throwing off everything is becuase you are in "Transfer Function Magnitude" at the top of the WinISD Graph. Try clicking where it says that, and it should bring down a bar of multiple things that you can click on. Go down to where it says "SPL" and click on that. Don't go to Maximum SPL because it will show the driver's max SPL in that box size.

Also, try raising your tuning .5hz, and it should be spot on with Mike P.'s graph, but I don't know if anything else is different between your guy's graphs.

·
Registered
2,431 Posts