Home Theater Forum and Systems banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I'm new to all this, so please bear with me.

(Have attached 2 x REW settings files for your reference.)

I got a Mac with REW, Behringer ECM8000 and an Apogee One audio interface.

I have done a measurement at my home studio and I did one for a restaurant where I recently did a sound system installation.

I have also manually programmed the audio processor in the restaurant with the suggested EQ settings from REW.

I'm having trouble understanding the graphs and what they mean and I haven't found anything satisfactory online.

The main thing that I want to use REW for is checking the quality of audio in restaurants and bars which I do sound system installations in. I know that's it's main use is balancing a system for sound studios (correct me if I am wrong) but I figured that if you can find the problem areas in bears, restaurants and clubs, that would be a boon.

From what I understand, for my purposes, the SPL, Waterfall and Impulse Response graphs are the most important. Is that correct?

If ou had to list out the order of importance of all the graphs, what would be the order i.e. which graphs must I consider most important when making decisions about acoustics in the room measured?

I kinda get the SPL graph. From what I understand, by sending a logarithmic sine sweep, it picks up at what frequencies the room (speaker, etc) is resonating at i.e. resonant frequencies. Theoretically this should give one the opportunity to select acoustic treatment to eliminate or reduce said resonances. So the question arises: How do I go about selecting acoustic materials based on that analysis? For instance, if I have a resonant frequency at 386 Hz (see the graph below) how do I choose the specific material that will counteract that specific frequency? And then how do I know where to place that material in relation to my listening position?